Just Run: Celebrating Boston and the Strength of Our Running Community

You may have noticed the “radio silence” on my blog (as my writing and blogging friend Melissa so aptly put it). There are many reasons it has been quite here, but one of the main ones is that I’ve been working on putting together my new running blog. It’s called Run Be Run (www.runberun.com).

I’m sharing one of my first posts here with you now, which celebrates the strength and diversity of the running community. If you like what you see and you’re interested, you can swing by my new site and check out what’s brewing. I’d love to know what you think.

I’m still planning to continue with this blog too–hopefully more consistently. I’ve missed being here and connecting with all of you!

Run Be Run

If the goal of the Boston bombers was to defeat the human spirit, clearly marathon runners were the wrong group to target.

They accomplished nothing with their cowardly explosives last year.

That’s right. Zero. Zip. Zilch.

They did not weaken us by their senseless act, but only made us stronger, more fierce, determined and connected. They didn’t scare anyone away, but instead bolstered an endless pool of support for Beantown and every other major marathon city out there, inciting legions of runners from all around the world to train harder just to qualify for Boston this year.

On April 21st, thirty-six thousand runners, the largest field ever, will run the Boston Marathon, despite the bombers. And not one person will give them a moment’s thought. They will be busy celebrating the honor of running in one of our sport’s most prestigious races, and reveling in the joy of being part of one of the strongest…

View original post 458 more words

I'd love to hear what you think. Leave me a comment!

